• Print Page Content
Start of Year 2017About Pukekohe HighParent Portal LoginLearning Areas
The ArtsEnglishLanguagesMathematics / Te Reo P...PE & HealthScienceSocial SciencesTechnology
Course SelectionsOther ActivitiesSportUseful Study LinksBYODBoard of TrusteesInternational StudentsEnrolmentNewslettersCareer EducationVacanciesContact UsExams & TimetablesMedia Gallery 

What is NCEA?

NCEA stands for National Certificate of Educational Achievement.

NCEA is the national qualification system for New Zealand's senior secondary school students.

It is made up of three certificates at Levels 1, 2 and 3 and usually studied in Years 11, 12 and 13.

NCEA qualifications are part of the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF).

Students' work is assessed internally and externally

How many credits are needed to earn NCEA?

To gain NCEA Level 1:

  • Achieve 80 credits at any level (Level 1, 2 or 3).
  • This must include a minimum of 10 credits in literacy and 10 in numeracy.

To gain NCEA Level 2:

  • Achieve a minimum of 60 credits at Level 2 or above; and
  • 20 credits at any level.

To gain NCEA Level 3:     

  • Achieve a minimum of 60 credits at Level 3 or above; and
  • 20 credits at Level 2 or above.

Information on Understanding NCEA from Careers NZ website: https://www.careers.govt.nz/education-and-training/still-at-school/how-to-understand-ncea/


Understanding NCEA
How NCEA works - Video
NCEA Level 2 Achievement diagram